Slow down, Molasses…Feathers

Wow. That’s really all that I’ve got here. I’ve replayed ‘Feathers’ three times now and I’m stuck on ‘Wow!’ The tune is a gorgeously layered piece that features a duet between special guest Julie Doiron and Molasses’ lead singer Tyson McShane. There’s horns, guitars, fuzz, feedback and other very cool elements in this absolute keeper of a song.

Slow down, Molasses is an indie rock collective from Saskatoon out on the sprawling Canadian prairies. The expanse of vistas seems to have found its way into the folk-rock music of this 7ish and occasionally 8ish-member band. I will always remember Saskatchewan as the place where I watched a very long freight train cross the horizon end to end under the clearest blue sky I’ve ever seen. The music of Slow down, Molasses would have provided the perfect soundtrack for those moments.

Known to occasionally play a manual typewriter during a live performance, Slow down has been touring in support of their latest CD ‘Walk in the Sea’ which was released in March 2011.

Feathers by Slow down, Molasses

Tyson McShane – Vocals, piano, Guitar, Banjo
Ryan Drabble – space echo, Percussion, Drums
Patrick Schmidt – Vocals, Guitar, Banjo
Jeanette Stewart – Vocals, toy piano, keyboards
Quentin Reschny – Bass
Kristine Eggertson – Vocals, Trombone
Paul Ross – Lap Steel, Guitar
Chris Morin – mandolin, Guitar, & Bass

Nov 25 SAIT’s the Gateway, Calgary AB
Nov 26 The Haven Social Club, Edmonton AB
Dec 23 Amigo’s Cantina, Saskatoon SK

Punt Sessions – Slow Down, Molasses from Nick Seagrave on Vimeo.

Chad Kichula…Killer

Chad Kichula’s latest CD ‘Killer’ was released in January 2011. The Regina SK-based musician teamed up with Matthew Kaip [Guitar], Philip Legrand [bass], Nat Bowen [drums], and Suzanne Parovsky [violin] to deliver an outstanding collection of songs.

The title track is a dark hypnotic piece that features a very cool fuzzed-out guitar solo, a great violin piece and a killer [sorry] bass line.

Lowell Thompson…Last Girl

Lowell Thompson & Crown Pilot rock. The Burlington VT-based band plays Americana roots rock with straight-ahead guitar hooks and vocal punches that draw you in and get your internal rhythms moving to an entirely different beat. This is essential listening for anyone who has ever called The North Country home.

Lowell Thompson: guitar/vocals
Bill Mullins: guitar/vocals
Kirk Flanagan: bass
Steve Hadeka: drums

Recent accolades:
• Best Male Vocalist, Seven Days “Daisies” Readers Choice Award, 2010
• Top Albums of 2009, Burlington Free Press, 2010
• Top Ten Albums of 2009, Seven Days, 2010
• Best Shows of 2009, Burlington Free Press, 2010

I love this tune.. it smacks of Tom Petty, Gram Parsons and maybe even well-aged Stones.

Trevor Davies…Vanity Press

Trevor Davies was born on the Canadian Prairies, raised on Vancouver Island and now calls Montreal home. His music mixes elements of pop, rock, folk & jazz – punctuated by well-crafted lyrics. He is currently promoting his first release ‘Vanity Press.’

Trevor Davies – Vocal/ Guitar
Phill Albert – Bass
David Klasen – Drums
Natalie Germann – Vocals, piano

Surface of Atlantic…A Land of Long Evenings

Surface of Atlantic is an indie alternative rock band from Montreal that has been serving up Eno-esque/Floyd-ish cinematic music since 2004. Dave Douville, Francois Graham, Francois Chabot, Marco Gervais and Marc-André Landry have developed a devoted following and are known for concerts featuring abstract visual projections.

A Land Of Long Evenings by Surface Of Atlantic

Four of their songs were featured in the movie “J’ai tue ma Mere (I killed my mother)” produced by Xavier Dolan, which won three awards at the prestigious Cannes film festival of 2009 and was selected as Canada’s submission at the 82nd academy awards ceremony.

Their latest LP ‘A Frame Per Season’ was released in 2010.

Surface of Atlantic ‘A Land of Long Evenings’ was recorded live at an abandoned cafe in St-Ferdinand on Oct 2, 2010.